Cannes 2017: The Full Winner List

Posted 2017/05/28 2668 0

The Cannes film festival has reached its final night, with awards dished out to Ruben Östlund for The Square, Joaquin Phoenix and Lynne Ramsay.


While the films that have been adorned with major accolades at the Cannes Film Festival  have rarely proven to be classics in the mainstream, most of the honorees have enjoyed at least a measure of critical love upon release. This is to say that the Palme d’Or and the Grand Prix don’t really have any bearing on the business side of moviemaking but are considered genuinely substantial for many filmmakers, screenwriters, actors, and producers. After two weeks of frenzied speculation about what might win the Palme d’Or at the 2017 Cannes Film Festival, the 70th anniversary Cannes Film Festival has wrapped with the Palme d'Or went to Swedish director Ruben Östlund for The Square. All the awards from the 70th Cannes film festival are here for you to check!

Caméra d’Or (best first feature)

Jeune Femme (Montparnasse-Bienvenüe) (dir: Léonor Serraille)

Best short film

A Gentle Night (dir: Qiu Yang)

Best screenplay

The Killing of a Sacred Deer (dir: Yorgos Lanthimos); You Were Never Really Here (dir: Lynne Ramsay)

Jury prize

Loveless (dir: Andrei Zvyagintsev)

Best actress

Diane Kruger, In the Fade (dir: Fatih Akin)

Best actor

Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here (dir: Lynne Ramsay)

Best director

Sofia Coppola, The Beguiled

Grand Prix

120 Beats per Minute (dir: Robin Campillo)

70th Anniversary prize

Nicole Kidman

Palme d’Or

The Square (dir: Ruben Östlund)